Dinner Tonite Vegetarian Style

Cucurbita pepo (spaghetti squash). Location: M...

Image via Wikipedia

The Monday rush is over! Wanted to make a vegetarian dish tonight to give my body a break. I could eat like a vegetarian every day ( with the exception of eggs) and not miss the meat. Its nice to give the body a break, it reduces inflammation and really allows your digestive system to regulate… Well any whoo..I used my  Spaghetti Squash Casserole recipe in mind..but you know minus the meat. I have a ton of veggies from the weekend when making my Turkey Vegetable Soup…So I cooked down the tomatoes first with onions and garlic, italian seasoning , salt and pepper for about 10 mins. and then  threw it into the food processor and gave it a good whirl. I let it sit there for a bit while I chopped up zucchini, squash, mushrooms, onions, garlic, and carrots. I cut some corners by cooking the spaghetti squash in the microwave, sliced in half and face down with a 1/2 cup of water. Nuked it for about 12 -15 minutes. When done removed the water and scooped out the squash int o the baking dish I used to cook it in. While it was cooking, I cooked the vegetable mixture that I chopped up and added in some Italian seasoning, salt and pepper, and 1 tsp red pepper flakes. I also had a bag of Soy crumbles on hand that I added to the mix.Cooked on the stove top for about 8 min. Then I poured on the tomato sauce I made in the food processor. Added it to the top of the spaghetti squash in the baking dish and  topped with 2% Mozzarella cheese.  Baked for 20 min at 375…Very good and filling with all the vegetables! I just love clean and fresh eating! It makes awesome leftovers too 🙂

Its much like my recipe for Italian Style Spaghetti Squash Casserole that I use often, but this time I pretty much used ” everything but the kitchen sink” recipe! 🙂

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://passionforthekitchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/29/dinner-tonite-vegetarian-style/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

