Roasted Orange Spiced Butternut Squash with Raisins

Using an orange zester to zest an orange.

Image via Wikipedia

I made this little side dish tonight while looking for something to go along with the chicken I thawed and pounded out into 3 servings ..I peeled and cubed a  large butternut squash..In the meantime, I put 1 cup of mixed raisins in a cup of warm water to soften them up. I had this large and ripe orange leftover from last weeks Crock Pot Orange Marmalade Sesame Chicken..So I couldn’t let it go to waste 🙂 And actually the kids benefited to because they got to enjoy Orange smile slices too.

Pre heat oven to 375~

On baking sheet lined with foil, place butternut squash on pan and drizzle with 2-3 tbsp olive oil. I had a large orange which I cut in half  and zested over the squash. I added sea salt, pepper, 1 tsp all spice, 1 tbsp cinnamon, 1 tbsp basil, 1 tsp ginger. I mixed in the raisins and all the spices together. Baked for about 25-35 min, giving it a good shake and stir half way 🙂 Once I plated them I drizzled them with Balsamic glaze to add a little pizazz.

After I placed the chicken into the baking dish I decided to incorporate the flavors from the butternut squash…So I juiced the orange over the chicken, cut the orange peel into little sections.. Seasoned chicken breasts with salt and pepper. Then added 1 tsp of dried mustard, 1tsp basil, and 1 tsp ginger. I placed to orange peels on each chicken breast and baked it at 375 with the squash for 20-25 mins.

These two ideas from the items I found on hand actually came out excellent! And the aromas while cooking were just so comforting. I love the smell of spices and oranges together. I often will add in small orange peels that I used and dried out to oil infusers and just fill my kitchen with this beautiful smell. (good to do after you’ve cooked seafood to FYI 🙂

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://passionforthekitchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/23/roasted-orange-spiced-butternut-squash-with-raisins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

