Tomato and Roasted Red Pepper Soup

When ever my mother comes to help me out in a jam with the kids, I always prepare a nice lunch for her to enjoy on her “break”. Today I used whatever I had on hand…and made a delicious and healthy soup! Heres what I found and put together…

1 package of campari tomatoes, slice in quarters

1/2 bunch fresh basil

4-5 cloves of garlic

I had a cup of left over brown rice cous cous

I found 3 cups of fat free chicken broth

1 can of white beans.. undrained

1 small jar of roasted red peppers undrained

Pre heated oven to 400…Placed quartered tomatoes, garlic, onions, basil and olive oil in pan, seasoned with salt and pepper. Baked for 30 min.  Placed beans in blender and then added the roasted tomatoes and pureed. Put into stock pot on stove to, heated to medium..added in chicken broth and 1 cup water. Added additional pepper, the cous cous and 1tbsp Italian seasoning. Cook together to a slow boil produces and then reduce to a simmer.

I have shaved Parmesan to  place on top…

Published in: on November 15, 2010 at 9:19 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://passionforthekitchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/15/tomato-and-roasted-red-pepper-soup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. oh my word this soup sounds amazing. Have to try it this week with our cold weather and all!


Leave a Reply

