My Crock Pot Experiment

Yesterday while shopping for our Sunday meal..(which I bought portabella mushrooms and spinach and made a Whole Wheat Spinach and Mushroom Lasagna), I also picked up extra mushrooms and a bag of finely shredded cabbage. I was thinking along the lines of Swedish Meatballs, but I wanted put a healthy spin on it. So I thought lean ground turkey meatballs that would cook all day in a all natural Creamy Portabella soup with sliced portabella mushroom, onions and shredded cabbage.  I’m hoping that this comes out awesome, and well the aromas alone already are inticing!

I used 1.5 lb lean ground turkey: seasoned it with 1 tbsp fennel seeds, 1 tbsp all spice, salt and pepper, 1 tsp ginger, 1 tbsp paprika..Formed into small meatballs and added EVOO to pan and browned on both sides, using a baslamic glaze reduction at the end. Placed meatballs into the crock pot with the 2 containeers of 32 oz creamy portabella soup…Added then the mushrooms and bag of finely shreddeed cabbage. I chopped  one onion and added it to the pan that the meatballs were browned in, scraping up all the juices…then put into crockpot. Sprinkled extra ground pepper and cinnamon. Put the lid on and cooking it on low for 6 hours. Will serve over yolkless whole wheat noodles…

I have a feeling that this experiment will go well….:)

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://passionforthekitchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/08/my-crock-pot-experiment/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

