Crock Pot Pulled Chicken Chili

I love just using the crock pot..Because when its so hectic at work and I know I’m going to get out late..Its comforting to know that dinner is already ready on my counter top. Takes only 10 minutes to put together in the morning and a few additions when you get home. It makes life simple! And a added bonus too because its very healthy and low fat!

I had some chicken tenderloins in fridge that I was going to use for something else but forgot! But I knew I wanted to make Chili.so I used the chicken instead of ground turkey.  Whats nice is that you put the chicken in raw and when you get home you just pull apart with a fork.. It becomes so tender and juicy!

Here’s what I did:

Turn crock pot on to Low. Places 1lb of raw chicken tenderloins in the crock pot. Season with salt and pepper.

2 cans of fire roasted tomatoes , undrained

1 can of pinto beans drained and rinsed

1 can of light red kidney beans drained and rinsed

1 small can of green chilies

2 cups of water

2 tbsp chili powder

1 tbsp cumin

1 tbspn paprika

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp cayenne pepper ( optional)

1 tsp nutmeg

1 bay leaf ( remember to remove before serving!)

Add all into crock pot and mix well! Cooks for 6-8 hours. I got home late again in 9 hours and turned it to Keep Warm , I took out all of the chicken and placed in a bowl and pulled apart with a fork and put back in!

I added 1 cup of thawed corn kernels and I made a pot of brown rice. Easy!  I chopped up some scallions to sprinkle on top. I have low fat cheddar cheese too! 🙂 These meals always make my husband very happy! He loves any meal he can eat out of a bowl! 🙂

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://passionforthekitchen.wordpress.com/2010/11/04/crock-pot-pulled-chicken-chili/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

